orbisms
Transmissions from the Void
Transmission 0 - mrlx
0:00
-1:06:50

Transmission 0 - mrlx

Art, Math, Crypto, and Community

For my inaugural episode, I wanted to share my conversation with mrlx, a Brazilian mathematician that is active in a wild range of roles in the world of crypto. He is well versed with blockchain technology, is a NFT art collector, and is deeply involved with building $NFD, a project based on one of the first ever fractionalized NFTs on the Ethereum network.

More importantly, he is a highly intelligent person I’ve come to consider as a friend, and always appreciate his insights on art and project development. Some of his personality also shows in his art collection on chain, and we touch on it briefly when he talks about why he collected a piece from Gözde Ekiz, an established artist in the NFT space.

Here’s the piece he references in the podcast (around 20 minutes in):

His journey through crypto, and how he arrived at a newer appreciation of art is fascinating to me. Additionally, since he’s been around since the earlier days of the blockchain, and comes from an academic background, I think his view of human behavior carries some weight. Essentially, he has watched and been a part of the evolution of an entire culture.

About halfway into it, we touch on NFD a bunch, which is where we collaborate on some projects, and are deeply immersed with its great community. While I ramble about how cool it is, he provides some background on it, and points out the importance of having a healthy level of engagement.

Feisty Doge! Kabosu rules.

He circles back to the point of decentralization and democratization, and I think this point resonates. Teamwork makes the dream work, but it’s important to have the right people on board to make projects come to fruition.

Overall, we had a lot of fun just shooting the shit, and I hope you learn a bunch about how he thinks like I did. At the end he mentions an Iranian artist he is really into, and after I took a look, I can see why. Her name is Sarira Merikhi, and you can find her work on multiple platforms, including SuperRare, and Foundation.


I’m still figuring out this whole podcast thing, so please let me know what you think in the comments, or you know, just shoot me a DM on Twitter. If you liked what you heard, then please also share this on your socials, and spread the word!

See you next time for an interview with one of the nicest people I’ve met, Flashfox!

0 Comments
orbisms
Transmissions from the Void
A cross-disciplinary dive into realms of art, technology, crypto, and everything in between. Sometimes esoteric, sometimes thoughtful, always observing connections between our humanity and the worlds we engage with physically and digitally.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Orban Isma